Skip to content

Lana Payne Elected New President of Unifor

Posted in Unifor 5555

Lana Payne has been elected as our new National President at our Constitutional Convention this month.  She defeated two other candidates, winning on the second ballot, to take her place as the first woman to serve as the head of our National Union.

Delegates also elected Len Poirier to take on the role of Secretary-Treasurer.  Jennifer Murray was elected to Atlantic Regional Director and Gavin McGarrigle was re-elected to Western Regional Director.

Closer to home, we are thrilled to see Naureen Rizvi re-elected as Ontario Regional Director.  Her support through the challenges of the pandemic and navigating Bill 124 has been invaluable to our Local.

We look forward to working with the new and returning leadership as we take our Local and National Union forward post-pandemic.